Twenty Things To Do In My Twenties

A few years ago I thought twenty was a magical number. It seemed like the age in which life started to make sense. You know, twenty seemed adult-ish and grownup. I though that, perhaps, some miracle would happen and that by shedding my teenage years I would somehow find life much less daunting.

Yet, here I am: twenty years old with no idea what the heck is going on. I didn’t wake up today feeling like an actual adult–it’s just the same old me with a “to do” list bigger than the state of Texas and stress levels reaching the height of Mt. Everest….

WOLF & HOUND (1).png

While turning twenty hasn’t managed to magically put my life in order, I can say that I am a little excited to be joining the ranks of twenty-somethings. This is a time where I can explore the world around me, and I plan to take full advantage of writing this new chapter in my life. To celebrate my birthday, here are twenty things I want to do in my twenties:

  1. ย Backpack through England and Scotland
  2. Graduate with a Bachelor of Arts in English with honors
  3. Take a summer road-trip with college friends
  4. Backpack the Pacific Crest Trail
  5. Enroll in one of my top five graduate programmes
  6. Live in the UK for a year
  7. Learn to speak/read Scottish and Irish Gaelic
  8. Return to Nosara, Costa Rica for a week
  9. Attend another Sigma Tau Delta convention
  10. Visit Iceland and Greenland
  11. Plan my wedding and say “I do”
  12. Start working on my PhD
  13. Spend a summer in Montana
  14. Publish a collection of poetry
  15. Spend a week or two backpacking in Alaska
  16. Publish at least two academic articles
  17. Work for a bookstore/publishing company
  18. Learn the art of book binding
  19. Develop a profitable, lifestyle blog for creative academics
  20. Buy my first house and start a family

Well, it looks like I better get started because the next ten years are going to be full of adventures!

19 thoughts on “Twenty Things To Do In My Twenties

  1. I’m 20 and a half, so I know the feeling exactly! This is such an awesome list — many of the items on it are on my bucket list too, like living in the UK (swoon), graduating with a BA in English with honors, getting married, and buying a house and starting a family! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Stephanie | Sincerely, Stephanie
    http://www.stephanietherese.com

    Like

  2. I love this list! I’m almost 24 (eek, in 14 days!) and while I’ve done a few of these (and I’m actually camping in Alaska for 2 weeks this summer) there are definitely a few things on your list I could add to my own! I think I’ll write a post like this to commemorate my birthday as well!

    PS: Shout out from a fellow English undergrad.

    Darrian || http://www.ohshiftyall.com

    Like

  3. Welcome to the 20’s club! I am 24 and still don’t have my ish 100% together but that’s okay. I hope you achieve all of your 20s goals ๐Ÿ™‚

    xoxo, Jenny

    Like

What are your thoughts?

