Weekend Finds // Peek In My Closet

Happy Monday, lovelies! After three months of not having a photographer around, I resigned myself to a tripod and timer–my weekend finds were just too good to not share. Forever 21 had some great buys on its “buy one, get one free” racks. After an hour or two of sorting through things, I ended up buying a lace shirt, a blazer, and four new dresses all for the price of an original priced item. With that said, here is my first fashion post since Thanksgiving.

Also, the post is introduced to you by my 1960 album of the Von Trapp family singers and captioned with my favorite Sound of Music lyrics…. The vinyl is another weekend find ($2), and I’m rather addicted….

2016-02-20-16-51-10

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens // bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens // brown paper packages tied up with strings // these are a few of my favorite things. 

20160220_163226

Cream colored ponies and crisp apple strudels // Door bells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles // Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings // These are a few of my favorite things.  

20160220_163256

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes // Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes // Silver white winters that melt into springs // These are a few of my favorite things. 

20160220_154924

The hills are alive with the sound of music // With songs they have sung for a thousand years // The hills fill my heart with the sound of music // My heart wants to sing every song it hears 

20160220_155144

My heart wants to beat like the wings of the birds // That rise from the lake to the trees // My heart wants to sign like a chime // That flies from from a church on a breeze

2016-02-20-17-02-13

To laugh like a brook when it trips // And falls over stones on its way // To sing through the night // Like a lark who is learning to pray // I go to the hills when my heart is lonely // I know I will hear what I’ve heard before // My heart will be blessed with the sound of music // And I’ll sing once more. 

20160220_162023

Perhaps I had a wicked childhood // Perhaps I had a miserable youth // But somewhere in my wicked miserable past // There must have been a moment of truth 

20160220_162147

For here you are, standing there, loving me // Whether or not you should // So somewhere in my youth of childhood // I must have done something good.

20160220_162313

 Nothing comes from nothing // Nothing ever could // So somewhere in my youth or childhood // I must have done something good. 

20160220_161140

I am sixteen going on seventeen // I know that I’m naive // Fellows I meet may tell me I’m sweet // And willingly I believe 

20160220_161425

I am sixteen going on seventeen // Innocent as a rose // Bachelor dandies, drinker of brandies // What do I know of those? // Totally unprepared and I // To face a world of men // Timid and shy and scared am I // Of things beyond my kin 

20160220_161635

I need someone older and wiser // Telling me what to do // You are seventeen going on eighteen // I’ll depend on you 

20160220_160112

Climb every mountain, search high and low // Follow every byway, every path you know // Climb every mountain, ford every stream // Follow every rainbow, ’till you find your dream. 

20160220_160254

Edelweiss, Edelweiss // Every morning you greet me // Small and white, clean and bright // You look happy to meet me // Blossom of snow may you bloom and grow // Bloom and grow forever // Edelweiss, Edelweiss, bless my homeland forever. 

20160220_160408

There’s a sad sort of clanging from the clock in the gall // And the bells in the steeple too // And up in the nursery, and absurd little bird // Is popping up to say, “Cuckoo, cuckoo!” // Regretfully they tell us but firmly they compel us// To say goodbye to you…

Do you have any favorite musicals? What about great weekend finds?

22 thoughts on “Weekend Finds // Peek In My Closet

What are your thoughts?

