Confessions of an Introverted Blogger // Blogging Life

The more I blog, the more I come across doubts and difficulties. Don’t get me wrong, I love to blog–I’d be happy if I could one day do so professionally. However, as an extreme introvert, blogging has it’s uncomfortable moments. While I might not be physically surrounded by my readers, it’s sometimes very hard to keep up such a steady stream of communication.

It doesn’t help that successful bloggers are most often seen as up-beat individuals who live life with constant pops of color. As you can see from my blog design and growing brand, my personality is a bit more subdued. Yet, these differences in bloggers is something I don’t often see addressed, which is why I want to share these confessions as I talk about some of the struggles that introverted bloggers face in a highly extroverted scene.

Confessions of an Introverted Blogger.jpg

1. Social media presences and strategies are a HUGE struggle– the pressure to be witty and attention grabbing is often quite stressful for introverts.

2. Networks and blogging groups are intimidating–full of peppy and vibrant bloggers, these places of socialization are wonderful; however, it can be extremely overwhelming.

3. The tendency to lurk in the corners transfers to blogger life–being the spotlight is scary, and it’s tempting to stay on the fringes of the blog-sphere where it’s “safe”.

4. Making friends with other bloggers can be hard–I honestly don’t know how so many bloggers comment on dozens of blogs every day without wanting to crawl into a blanket-fort.

5. Receiving comments on our own blogs make our day–we want blogging friends, but it’s less intimidating if someone else makes the first initial contact.

6. Marketing and reaching out to other brands–again, it’s so much easier if they make contact first, because being the one to make the official contact is terrifying.

7. Asking your peers to take pictures of you for a post–honestly, I’ve resorted to self-timers or waiting until going home (hence the recent lack of fashion posts).

8. Talking about blogging in real life just doesn’t happen–it’s extremely personal, and it’s stressful when people don’t understand that it isn’t just an online “diary”.

9.   It’s easy to get discouraged when our blogs doesn’t grow as quickly as those of more outgoing bloggers–we’re not inclined to throw ourselves into the middle of crowds.

10. Vulnerability feels awkward, especially since introverts tend to be very private–talking about myself in lifestyle posts always feels strange, and I always worry that I’m not interesting or exciting enough.

 

What are some struggles you face as an introverted blogger?

 

14 thoughts on “Confessions of an Introverted Blogger // Blogging Life

  1. Oh my goodness I love this!! I relate to every single point you made. Its nice to see that I’m not the only one who feels this way. I do feel lost in the sea of bloggers at times since most of them seem so outgoing. Being an introvert is definitely tough in a world that requires us to be outgoing and shames us for being quiet and reserved. By the way this is my first time on your blog and I absolutely love it 🙂 I too am an English major!

    Like

  2. I’m extremely introverted and I’d even say shy, in person…However I think I come across as my (true) upbeat cheerful self through the internet which makes it interesting. Haha! I always find it SO awkward when someone brings up something I wrote a blog post about in a real-life in-person conversation. I can talk about stuff much more openly on my blog, and then when the topic comes up in real life, its like I don’t know what to say…Hahaha ah. I’m glad there are others who can relate!!

    Like

  3. You took the words right out of my mouth! I’ve really been struggling with being an introverted blogger. I love writing, but it’s even harder to build that community online than it is in real life when you’re introverted. I especially struggle with social media; it’s not something that comes naturally to me. I’m so glad I’m not the only one out there!

    Like

  4. Ahaha GIRL you understand how I feel. I’m an INFJ so I can relate to ALL of these things in the list. My Instagram photos are more on the muted, sepia side of things whereas other accounts have really bright and colorful ones. I don’t think I can do a lot of color. I also suck at using Twitter.
    I have been thinking of choosing just a handful of blogs and focus on those. When I started blogging in 2009, I actually made friends during those days because I didn’t have a huge network; just a small band of bloggers who found each other and enjoy each other’s stories. The blogosphere is not like that anymore. While I still look for genuine friendships to blossom through blogging, a lot of it is just marketing to me. Like what Emily wrote up there, I’m glad I’m not the only one.

    Following you now! 🙂

    Like

  5. A yes to all of these! I’m fairly knew to the world of blogging, but everything i’m readying about how to b successful at it is overwhelming. I feel defeat knocking at my door, but i’m trying to stay optimistic and on top of my game. Thanks for writing this. I look forward to seeing your other writings 😀

    Like

  6. Oh my goodness. I love this post. I am also an introvert and I have often thought my struggles meant I just wasn’t cut out for blogging life. I am so relieved I am not the only one who struggles.. It is extremely hard sometimes. Thank you for sharing a refreshing post.

    Like

  7. I’m an introvert person, and I find blogging is so much fun. In real life, just like you, I don’t really like when people find out about it. I was only open about my blog to some close friends, but lately blogging has taught me a lot so I put it too in my CV and speak about it to my interviewer. Trust me, a blog can be more than just a blog. In fact, you can have a blog as a portfolio 🙂

    Like

  8. This post is everything! It’s so hard to kind of fake extroversion on the blogosphere (and in real life lol) when all you want to do is crawl into a blanket fort(< my favorite line of this entire amazing post!)
    so much love! xo, Ingrid

    Like

What are your thoughts?

