Fake It Till You Make It // Why I Wear Heels To Work

A few days ago I ran into an old friend from freshman year–she congratulated my second job position and noted that I must feel so accomplished. I’m awkward with these types of things, and I hadn’t exactly advertised my second job outside of my friend group. I ended up just giving her a faltering smile while mumbling something about it not being a huge deal…. She didn’t take the bait….

“But you have your life together.” She looked down at my brown Lauren Conrad heels (a recent Goodwill find) and continued, “Heck, I can’t even wear heels much less walk all over campus in them!”

Topics turned towards the latest fashion trends on campus (we noted the high number of man-buns we had seen this semester), and I was happy to finally leave the awkwardness aside. But as my blister-covered feet headed back to my dorm, I couldn’t help but return to the initial conversation and ask myself why I bother to wear heels to work.

Fake It Till You Make It-.png

Confidence. This was the first word that came to mind for multiple reasons. Yes, I’ve been offered a fantastic opportunity to jump-start my career. I’m being paid to write, which is the dream of every English major. However, my life is far from “together”–I felt as if the blisters on my feet were enough proof of that. Besides, I certainly don’t ever feel confident at work. Mostly I feel like a little girl attempting to play an intense game of “grown-up,” except this time the too-big heels aren’t my mother’s and my paycheck isn’t fake…. Wearing heels is my personal reminder that I can rise to the occasion and that I can fill the shoes of those who have climbed the career ranks before me–it’s a reminder to stand tall even if I occasionally stumble.

Encouragement. Back to the blisters–as insane and painful as it sounds, slipping on a pair of heels is my morning pep-talk. Knowing that my feet might hurt later in the evening after a long day of work, classes, and even more work encourages me to work harder than ever before. A strong worth ethic is key to reaching goals, and wearing heels is a reminder that each step I take in closer to achieving my dreams.

Appearance. Even if I’m exhausted and sick, I feel so much more put together when slip on a pair of heels paired with a nice blazer. A nice pair of heels creates an appearance that says “I’m ready to balance the insanity of being a girl boss;” and when I’m constantly coming in contact with influential people, this polished appearance helps the first-impression anxieties. Sure, some people might say that this is a shallow or vain reason. However, it’s important to dress for success–heels are the ultimate sellout, because a professional appearance says I’m serious (even if I don’t know what I’m being serious about).

I guess it’s safe to say that I wear heels because I’m going to fake it until I make it.

 

 

 

17 thoughts on “Fake It Till You Make It // Why I Wear Heels To Work

  1. Congratulation on your new job! And I agree with you. There is definitely something to be said about looking good and feeling good. I think that the same could be said about smiling. If you aren’t feeling happy, smiling anyway can change your mood and outlook.

    Like

  2. Okay, I’ve never been a heels kind of girl but you made some valid points. I’ve got a pair of really great wedges that definitely make me feel more confident and pulled together, I’ll have to break them out more often after reading this. xx Merisa | Monogrammed Magnolias

    Like

  3. Congrats on the job!! I think those are great reasons to wear heels to work. I would totally do that however, my work is super causal and when I started out part time I made it pretty clear I wasn’t planning on dressing up a lot.

    Like

  4. Congrats on the job, girl!! I would love to wear heels to work, but as a first grade teacher it isn’t always an option…especially when chasing kiddos around all day! I definitely believe in wearing certain things to give you confidence though!! I definitely wore heels to my job interview!

    xo Ashley

    Like

  5. What a great post. I agree with you on heels though. I feel so much more powerful when I’m wearing heels and people tend to respect me more. Not sure why, but it’s something I’ve noticed. I love your post and you should be so proud of yourself!

    Like

  6. This is a great post and not something that many people think about. Heels are more than just a fashion statement (although they make a great one); they show confidence and are a great way to get into a productive/I’m-ready-to-start-the-day mindset. Thank you for sharing!

    Sockwun | ExtraExtravagant.com

    Like

  7. I am right there with you! When I started my new job, I started wearing heels to work because they helped me to feel more confident and stand a little straighter 🙂 By the way, BandAid Friction block is a lifesaver when it comes to preventing blisters. Highly recommend giving it a try!

    XO, SS || Seersucker Sass

    Like

What are your thoughts?

