A New Year // A New Day

Maybe it’s just me, but I often feel as if the years are getting shorter. It seems like yesterday I was celebrating the start of 2015 and enjoying my second semester of college– now I’m jumping into the final semester of my second year. Time truly flies by; and, while everyone else is anticipating the new year, I’m simply enjoying the dawning of a new day.

THE PARTY (23)

Sure, there is a certain appeal to the start of a new year. For many, it can signify a new start and a clean slate. To me, it just means that I’m facing another 365 days of new adventures. All the hype over New Year’s resolutions, however well meant they can be, strikes me as a ditch attempt to make up for all the mistakes of the previous year– mistakes that are in the past but probably also in the future. The thing is, I don’t really buy into the “new year, new me” stuff.

See, I don’t think you can just wake up at the start of the new year, make some resolutions, and transform yourself into the (supposed) new-and-improved person you have envisioned. You’re going to wake up to a new day and very likely make a mess of your resolutions before January is coming to a close.

Now don’t get me wrong–I’m not saying that wanting to improve yourself is a bad thing, but setting resolutions for the new year usually results in inevitable failure. Be honest… are you really going to start working out five days a week after spending five weeks binge watching Supernatural and The Office? Yeah, probably not (though, if you do succeed, all the more power to you). The point is: you can’t expect a new year to be the magical change you have been waiting for. Change is typically a fairly slow process, and it can only come with new dedication to each and every day despite success or failure.

Starting a new year with an overall purpose is great, but waking up to greet another day with a list of goals you can achieve before saying goodnight is even better. Live each day more intentionally with more laughter and love. Wake up each morning with a plan in mind, but don’t be afraid to toss those plans to the side and actually live life and make memories. After all, a new day can promise a new beginning; however, a new year cannot guarantee its 365 days.

Perhaps, in the end, you could say that my new year resolution is to simply live each day as if it is my last.

What are your thoughts about yearly resolutions vs. daily goals?

 

 

4 thoughts on “A New Year // A New Day

  1. Love what you’re saying here. Creating goals are fine, but I think people have it envisioned that they’re going to being thinking about those goals every second of the day and crushing them. In reality, we live our lives day after day and should be grateful for that. I personally don’t bother with resolutions either because I just resolve to have whatever kind of year God grants me. Blessings on your week!

    Like

  2. “See, I don’t think you can just wake up at the start of the new year, make some resolutions, and transform yourself into the (supposed) new-and-improved person you have envisioned.” Yussss this is perfect. I’ve always thought that New Year’s goals are a bit pointless and just end up being frustrating and depressing anyway, so I don’t try them myself. I would much rather have some goals and focus points that I try to come back to during the year.

    Like

What are your thoughts?

