Christmas Break Reading List

As an English major, it’s probably rather obvious that I’m a book and word nerd. If you won’t take my word for it, scroll through my Pinterest– the poor thing is overwhelmed by pictures of lovely novels and journals.

Despite the fact that my nose is usually buried in a book of some form, I rarely ever read for fun these days. Not that books on a syllabus aren’t fun–I adore my English classes and their reading lists–but I’m not really reading them for myself. The problem is that I’m so busy reading that I don’t have time to actually read things not needed for classes like Shakespeare or The British Novel in Town and Country. By the time I finish each semester, my brain is burned out and tired of reading page upon page.

My cure for the reading burn out…. My Christmas break reading list!

SPRINGTIME (1)

Each year, I make a reading list of books that I actually want to read (find 2014’s list here) over my month long Christmas break. Really, what better way to celebrate a break than with a nice cuppa, a warm blanket, a snuggly kitten, and a tall stack of beautiful books? I can’t think of any, so without any more digressions, here’s my 2016 Christmas Break Reading List:

1. If I Stay by Gayle Forman… Okay, I have to admit that I watched the movie before watching the book, which is something I try to never do, but my mom kept telling me how great the film version was. Now I’m hooked, and I can’t wait to see how the story unfolds in ink.

2. Lord of the Flies by William Golding… This one might be cheating, because it’s technically on my syllabus next semester for 20th Century Brit. Lit; however, I really have wanted to read Golding’s famous novel for years. I guess this is my chance.

3. A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens… Yes, another classic. Still, it’s tradition to read this lovely little book the few days before Christmas. I also have a thirteen-hour-long car ride across New Mexico and Arizona (which isn’t all that scenic) to my grandparents house, so I have a ton of reading time.

4. Hold Still by Nina LaCour… This was a book I ordered alongside Winter Girls and Running Lean, so I must have been in the mood for dark and depressing literature. The story-line still sounds amazing, though–I can’t wait to add it to my stack of “finished” books.

5. Terrier by Tamora Pierce… I haven’t touched any of Pierce’s Tortall books since my junior year of high school. Now I’m a junior in college, and her Beka Cooper series is calling my name. I remember getting halfway through the second book Bloodhound and then getting so sick from the flu that reading didn’t even help me feel better. I guess it’s about time I started rereading them.

Well, I think that’s it for now; though, I’m really impressed that I kept it down to five books– I’m going to die with a unfinished reading list.

What books are you planning to read over the break? Any “must read” suggestions?

4 thoughts on “Christmas Break Reading List

What are your thoughts?

