Thankful Thursday {Linkup}

November is such a lovely month– turning trees, crisp mornings, corn mazes, and pumpkin fields. Despite all these lovely things, my favorite thing about November is Thanksgiving. Yes, the food is lovely. Cranberry sauce, anyone? However, it’s the attitude of thanksgiving that makes this month so special. Perhaps it’s the time of year, but I always find myself significantly stressed towards the end of the year, especially as a college student. Taking a month to appreciate the many blessings in my life is a lovely reprieve from the many assignments and research papers that are flooding my schedule.

With all these things in mind, I wanted to share the joys of thanksgiving with all my lovely readers. Starting today, I plan to post a special “Thankful Thursday” post to lead up to Thanksgiving. To spread an attitude of appreciation, I’ve shared this post as a linkup: create your own “Thankful Thursdays” list, post it on your blog, and link back in the comments. On Thanksgiving day, I’ll publish a special post to wrap things up and include a list of all the lovely bloggers who joined it the fun!

Thankful Thursday 8
(Random) Things I’m Thankful for Today:

  • The word “lovely”. It’s one of my favorite words, and I try not to overuse it. However, since today is Thankful Thursday, I decided to throw caution to the wind. 😉
  • My mother. She’s an amazing woman who inspires me daily. Between homeschooling three girls, running our (funny) farm of 4-H animals, cooking for a family of five, and helping my dad with church events, I’m not sure how she managed to keep her sanity.
  • Textbooks. If I didn’t go to school, I wouldn’t have a need for textbooks. If I didn’t have scholarships from individuals who saw potential in my awkward, high school self, I wouldn’t be attending a university. If I wasn’t attending a university, I’d be fairly miserable. Therefore, textbooks are wonderful.
  • A wonderful boyfriend I get to see in 14 days. Middle of the month road trip with someone who makes me laugh and smile? Yes, please.
  • The color green. It’s one of my favorite colors, and I’m wearing a comfy hunter green sweater today. It makes me quite content. Also the color gold. Actually, maybe I’m just happy that I’m surrounded by fall colors. If you hadn’t noticed, autumn is 110% my favorite season.
  • My Spanish professor who decided to lay off homework this week. This is quite the blessing, and I plan to spend the break catching up on sleep. Actually, that’s a bit far fetched. I’ll likely spend those extra hours getting ahead on end-of-term research projects…
  • Libraries. I love my job, especially my dark corner in the Writing Center. It’s the type of quiet occupied by thousands of books, which isn’t quiet at all. They all have their unique voices, their own stories to tell. Some people may find such silence unnerving, but I’ve always found it comforting to know the silence is full of voices, to know only some people hear the voices calling out, to know there are no voices at all, only silence. Perhaps it’s my underlying insanity rising to the surface, but it’s a lovely feelings to know you’re surrounded by both absolutely everything and absolutely nothing.
  • Sigma Tau Delta. The English major life is a struggle. It’s nice to know that there are other people in the world who appreciate our under-appreciated skills of literary analysis, research, and writing.
  • Tom Hiddleston’s Voice. Have you ever heard him read Shakespeare? It’s near perfection. It might also be a near addiction. However, I’ll blame that on being an English major. Really though, Tom Hiddleston as Henry V….
  • My coffee pot. I actually rarely use it for coffee, but it’s perfect for warming up the water for my tea. There’s nothing better than having a cuppa while writing a research paper for British literature.
  • Spotify. Does this one really need an explanation? Music is life. Though, I will say that having hoards of music at my fingertips is rather wonderful. It’s rather nice to create playlists to fit different moods or subjects. For instance, I may or may not have a playlist of 18th and 19th century English ballads. If you ever get the chance to listen to “The Death of Queen Jane”, you should certainly take it.
  • Fleece blankets. When your room is Antarctica compared to the already crisp temperatures of your university’s campus, you truly come to appreciate warm clothes and fleece blankets. They’re also wonderful to curl up in while reading P. G. Wodehouse.
9 thoughts on “Thankful Thursday {Linkup}

  1. I throw caution to the wind on a lot of words 🙂 They’ve become my catch phrases to my close friends: tangible, seasons, grace made concrete, incarnation. Lovely is one I would overuse in letters and on postcards and while eating homemade soup. Thankful for your gratitude on this Thursday, Sierra! I will definitely link up in the future!

    Like

What are your thoughts?

