My Fall 2015 Bucket List

Happy Autumn, lovelies! I’m not sure how to express how excited I am to be breathing in air on the first, official day of fall. It’s honestly one of my favorite days of the year, because there seems to be a crispness that wasn’t there the day before. Today, it’s overcast and raining, which perfect weather for the paper-writing and literature-reading academic.

wpid-img_20150922_185653.jpg

Anyhow, since I’ve already written my Anticipating Autumn post, I figured I should add a fall bucket list to the trend.

1. Spend a day in the mountains
My boyfriend and I are planning to spend a day in the Rockies while I’m on my fall break. In my opinion, this is the perfect way to enjoy nature’s vibrant, autumn colors. The outdoors are lovely, and I can’t wait to adventure with my better half.

2. Buy new ankle boots and wool socks
Ankle boots are life. Wool socks are life. If anyone has any good recommendations, I’d love to see them in the comments. Finding a functional pair of ankle boots that are both comfy and cute has been such a struggle….

3. Play in a pile of leaves
Yes, I am a child. When I should be doing homework, I watch Disney movies. When I should very likely be doing something productive with my life, I play in leaves. Some people on campus may give me strange glances; however, they’re the ones missing out on the fun fall festivities.

4. Try new latte recipes
Butterbeer is my favorite drink of the season, but Pinterest has been taunting me with cooking (or brewing) failure. I’m not quite sure how I’ll try anything new since my kitchen consists of a coffee maker and crock pot… Hopefully I’ll conquer Pinterest’s taunts.

5. Learn to cook pumpkin bread
This will be an adventure for a weekend at home, especially since the dorm’s oven is cantankerous. While my mother and sisters accomplish fantastic feats in the kitchen, I typically only manage to make a mess. Thus, I’m determined to prove my domestic talents aren’t nonexistent.

6. Take up arm knitting again
Everyone needs more infinity scarves, and arm kitting is such a quick and easy way to make them. There’s nothing more relaxing than curling up with a cup of tea, a period drama show, and a nice ball of yarn. The only thing missing is a kitten. I miss my cat… Though, I’m not sure housing would approve of me smuggling a cat into the dorms.

7. Gain enough confidence to wear plum lipstick
I’m not a big lipstick person. To be honest, I don’t think I’ve worn lipstick since sophomore year of high school. However, plum is one of my favorite autumn colors and it matches so many of my sweaters. It may be a bold move, but I’m determined…

8. Read a book for fun
Yes, I’m an English major. My life revolves around reading and writing. However, I spend so much time reading that I don’t have time to read for personal pleasure. This fall I’ve made it a goal to read a novel that isn’t in my syllabus for my own gratification. After all, mist mornings and rainy evenings create the perfect reading atmosphere.

What’s something that’s on your autumn bucket list?

6 thoughts on “My Fall 2015 Bucket List

  1. Hello Sierra, have you decided which book you’re planning on read for fun? I would either recommend the book “Kisses from Katie” by Katie Davis (it’s a memoir of a Christian young woman who is a missionary in Africa.) or Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers (it’s a Christian fiction book which is based on the bible story of Gomer but it’s a beautiful love story all the same.) Love your blog!

    Like

What are your thoughts?

