Instagram Favorites: Costa Rica

While in Costa Rica, I didn’t have the opportunity to do any blogging. Instagram was another story. Each day brought new chances to capture the stunning sunsets and the captivating culture. Thus, my Instagram feed was full of fun pictures of my Central American adventures. This week was my first full week back on campus and my first week of work, so it’s an understatement to say that my wanderlust has been acting up. The result? I’ve spent this evening reviewing all my photographed, study abroad memories. Here are my top ten favorites that I wanted to share with you.

Travel awakens my heart as adventure nurtures my soul.

A post shared by Sierra Bailey (@sierrakay_wordsonmypage) on

I took this picture from my window seat (best place to be) when we finally made it in the air. It was a journey to get from my university to Costa Rica — two days lost due to weather — but in the end, I still had the best time of my life. Flying is one of those terrifying but exciting experiences, and it rekindled my wayfaring desires.

No filter. No words. #puravida

A post shared by Sierra Bailey (@sierrakay_wordsonmypage) on

This was taken while walking along the beach with great friends after a long day of homework and jungle exploring. Can life get much more breathtaking than these stunning colors?

No filter. No words. #puravida

A post shared by Sierra Bailey (@sierrakay_wordsonmypage) on

Playa Palada is one of my favorite places in the world, and I wish we had spent more than a few hours on the lovely beach. Despite the short time we were there, it was still one of the most human experiences I’ve had in my short nineteen years. Even now, it’s overwhelming to think about the beauty of the surrounding world. Furthermore, I’m still in awe of the sheer power of the ocean,and the fact that I stood on the very edge of the world, stood against the oncoming tide and faced my fears. As cliched as it sounds, thinking about it gives me chills.

I’m living in Costa Rica someday. I don’t care if it’s only for six months. One day, I’ll return to this gorgeous country. I’m all about the pura vida lifestyle, too.

The ocean is calling. More specifically, the Pacific. Whether it’s the sunny shores of Costa Rica or the chilly coastline pf Alaska, you can bet that I’ll be breathing in the salty air and feeling freedom fill my lungs. Goodness… I miss it so much. It’s sad to think that I won’t be seeing those waters again for at least another nine months.

Some say that special rocks, ones with a holes, are portals into another world. #perspective #puravida

A post shared by Sierra Bailey (@sierrakay_wordsonmypage) on

Spirit stones are the coolest legend ever. Maybe it’s because I’m a writer, but the whole idea that these special rocks, ones with holes worn through by the ocean tide, are portals into another world is beyond fascinating.

Yet another beautiful sunset. #puravida #collegetouristsunset

A post shared by Sierra Bailey (@sierrakay_wordsonmypage) on

When I move to Rica and further embrace the “pura vida” life, I want to learn to surf. Better yet, I’ll be able to sit out on my beloved beach and watch the spectacular sun dip below the ocean’s offing…. Life goals. Really.

Two months ago, I was leaving for Costa Rica… How does time go by so fast? #misstravel #misslaplaya

A post shared by Sierra Bailey (@sierrakay_wordsonmypage) on

Speaking of life goals, reading on the beach is one of my favorite things ever. Writing on the beach comes in first place. Either way, this picture fully encompasses many of my loves. Travel. Ocean. Books. Can’t I just venture the world with a cup of tea, a good book, and a nice pen for jotting down my thoughts? That is the dream.

Las puestas de sol son muy bonitas en la selva también. #puravida #thefinalweek #firstjunglesunset

A post shared by Sierra Bailey (@sierrakay_wordsonmypage) on

This photo was taken after hiking up to the Arenal Volcano in La Fortuna, Costa Rica, which is definitely worth all the price haggling done beforehand. The jungle is so unique and the view of the surrounding mountains, valleys, and lakes create a stunning contrast to the volcanic rock and jungle trees. Anyhow, after walking back, I was able to catch this magnificent sunset and bird in flight out of the window of a bus. I’m not really sure how I managed it…

And last but not least, the view I had each morning from my front porch in La Fortuna. On the trip I wrote in many unique and beautiful places, and other than the ocean, this was certainly my favorite. My last night/morning in Costa Rica, I pulled an all-nighter and watched the sunrise over the volcano. Like Playa Palada, it was a very human experience that put many thing in my life into a new perspective.

If you want to see more snapshots of Costa Rica or read about my study abroad escapades, here are some posts to check out: First Impression , Truths of Travel , Definition of Adventure: Exploring Playa Palada, and Five Things I Learned While Studying Abroad

Hope you enjoyed my random moment of nostalgia! If you did, jump on the bandwagon and created your own “Instagram Favorites” post. Link back in the comments — I’d love to check them out!

5 thoughts on “Instagram Favorites: Costa Rica

What are your thoughts?

