First Impressions

¡Hola, amigos! ¿Qué pasa?

Allow me to fill you in on all the crazy adventures that are taking place on my end. Costa Rica has been more than I ever imagined. Yes, for those of you who don’t know, I’m spending most of May on a beach studying Spanish. While I plan on doing a series of posts after I arrive in the States, I still wanted to ramble for a bit. You know, I figured you all might miss me or something. Oh, no? Well, you’re stuck with me anyhow.

Now where were we? Ah, yes! Adventure and Costa Rica. Both are certainly understatements. The trip started off great– hotel room with friends before the flight, soundtracks to our favorite musicals, and fantastic Asian food. We showed up at the airport like pros. Slightly terrified and giddy pros, but we were prepared nonetheless. Then weather happened, and after seven hours of sitting in an airport with multiple flight cancellations, we found ourselves back on the road and headed home. Now, don’t get me wrong. Short roadtrips are fun, especially with friends. However, it does get a bit old when you make the same drive five times in a matter of a week. It’s not exactly my definition of thrilling, and missing two days of a study abroad trip is far from exciting. In fact, it was a huge frustration.

Still, we eventually arrived in Costa Rica. All the stress and tension seemed to vanish instantaneously. However, now that I think about it, the tension could have just been jarred out of us from driving on unpaved jungle roads at night. That probably played a huge role. It’s hard not to bond with your classmates when you share such an interesting experience. As I said before, Costa Rica exceeded every expectation that I had. Though we arrived at a ridiculous time in the morning, we still headed straight for the ocean. Even in the dark sky, you could see the force thrown behind the waves. It was clear it wasn’t a calm surf. I thought I’d be disappointed, but the sight thrilled me. I change when I travel–not drastically of course, but there are characteristics that become more dominate. A sense of wild abandonment and adventure is one of those characteristics. It took a good lecture from my logical side to keep me from diving into the water then and there. Sometimes I wish I could be that enthusiastic and fearless about life all the time.

There have been so many adventures, so many memories made. Still, I think that I’m going to sign off for now. I don’t want to spoil any future Costa Rica posts…

¡Pura Vida!

3 thoughts on “First Impressions

  1. Hi C-C, I’m so happy that you are having a wonderful time. The ocean is amazing and very powerful. The sunsets are awesome. Only God can make something that beautiful.
    Keep the post coming. Love you and praying for you all.

    Liked by 1 person

What are your thoughts?

